• Faculty of Pharmacy
  • fak_farmasi@um.edu.my
  • +603-7967 4909

University of Malaya is among the six public universities (IPTA) in Malaysia conducting pharmacy programmes in Malaysia. The Department of Pharmacy was established in 1995 within the Faculty of Medicine, to cater for the increased need of pharmacists for the public healthcare system.

Since the year 2000, the department was housed in the Pharmacy and Allied Health Sciences Building, Faculty of Medicine. On 1st September 2019, the Department of Pharmacy has been successfully established as the Faculty of Pharmacy. There are about 40 members of full-time staff, about 200 undergraduates, 50 postgraduates and a very active Pharmacy Student Society.

Previous Heads of the Department of Pharmacy

1995 – 1997 Professor Dr. Yeoh Peng Nam
1997 – 2001 Associate Professor Dr. Hadida Hashim
2001 – 2004 Associate Professor Dr. Hjh Samsinah Hj Hussain
2004 – 2006 Associate Professor Dr. Chung Lip Yong
April 2006 – August 2006 Associate Professor Dr. Hjh Samsinah Hj Hussain
2006 – 2014 Associate Professor Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim Noordin
2014 – 2019 Professor Datin Dr. Zoriah Aziz

Present Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy

2019 – Present Professor Dr. Hasniza Binti Zaman Huri

Last Update: 08/09/2022